Certain roles in the translation process are optional, based on the consultant’s preferences and language commonality with the translation team. It is best to choose your preferences before you start setting up your project users.


If a box is checked on this Setup page, it means that that role is turned on and will be used for your project. If it is unchecked, it is turned off for your project. Below are the different roles and the scenarios where you may want to turn roles off or on.

Number of Community Checks: You can choose to have one, two or three community groups for your project. (If you are doing community check outside of Render, you could also choose to have 0 community checks in the software.)

Within each community check you can choose to have one or both parts: 

  • Retell Community Check: Here the community will tell the translation back at the passage level. 
  • Q & R Community Check: In this part of the community check, the community will answer questions that were previously set up in the role Community Check Setup. Turning this part of Community Check on will also add the setup role.


Breath Pause and Retell Back Translate: You can choose one or both types of back translation or if the consultant does not want a back translation you can turn both of these roles off.


Note Translate: If one or more people on the translation team speak a common language with the consultant, you do not need this role. If none of the translators speaks a common language with the consultant, you will want to have Note Translate turned on.


Transcribe: If the consultant wants to read the back translations and notes, you will want to have transcribe on. If the consultant wants to work off the oral back translations and notes, this can be turned off.


Consultant Language: Before adding one or more consultants to your project, you will need to choose their language on this page.


Whichever roles you have turned "on" will appear as roles you can assign to a user (see below).


If you need to change any of this setup, simply return to this page again and make the necessary changes. You will then need to sync your device and then sync the other devices in order to implement these changes.