When changing machine, role or set assignments:

If you do not follow these steps it could cause major problems in your project that could be unrepairable by the programmers. Please read carefully and keep in mind when changing any setup. Do not change a machine, role or set assignments without following these steps: If you are changing a user’s machine, role assignments or set assignments, follow these steps. (Changing Admin follows different steps*)


1. Finish any unfinished sets on original user machine.


2. Sync this original user machine.


3. In the case that the original machine is no longer working or has been stolen, simply follow the steps below. If the original machine is revived, delete the folder titled “Render” in the C: Drive and re-initialize the project. Before starting any work, do a web sync and also a LAN sync to be updated on the project.


4. Sync admin machine.


5. Now, change user’s machine, role(s) or set(s) in admin.


6. Sync admin machine.


7.Sync original machine using the same sync method as the admin (LAN or web). User, role or set should no longer show up.


8. Sync new machine. User role or set should show up on new machine.


9. You can now start work on the new machine.


*If you would like to move the Admin to another device on the project, follow these steps:

1. Go into Project Configuration under the current admin user.


2. Click on the dropdown next to “Admin Device” on the left side of the page.


3. Choose the machine that will be the new admin machine.


4. You will get a popup with the new admin machine name. Assure that this is the correct machine. If you want to proceed, click Yes.


5. Click Finished.


6. You will now need to sync to the new admin. If your project is using LAN sync, you can send the new admin via LAN sync. Do a LAN or web sync on the current admin machine and then do a LAN or web sync on the new admin machine.


7. The old user name may appear on the new Admin device. This user name can be edited to reflect a new Admin, if necessary. On the Admin device, Go to Users > Select "Admin" > Choose "Edit" > Edit "Name"


There is no option to record a note back to the Peer Review team in Peer Revise

When a set is sent back from Peer Review to the translation team, when they are on the select page, the translation team can either record a note that says “We don’t want to re-record” OR choose to re-record a passage in the set. If they re-record a passage and later go back and record a note on the select page, it will delete their re-recording and send this set on to Community Check.


Crash in SETS in Admin: 

If you run into a crash in SETS in Admin or Admin (Read-Only), you should check if this set is assigned to a consultant. The set will crash in Admin or Admin (Read-Only) if the set is not yet assigned to a consultant. Simply go to the USERS page, click on a user assigned the role Consultant, click Add Sets and add that set to the consultant. This will fix the crash.


How to configure Note Translate languages:

In Admin, when setting note translate languages, they must be set to go between the consultant’s language and the target language of the translation team. You can translate the notes in whatever language you would like on the note translate pages, but it has to be set like this in Admin.


Below is an example of the configuration in Admin with the target language
of the project as Madi Okollo and the consultant’s language as English.


How to assign a password to a user in Admin: 

Password grid is as follows and must be typed in as numbers and capital letters in the order you want your password to be. Does not seem to have a case minimum (can be one) or up to 16.


00
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
0A
0B
0C
0D
0E
0F


We recommend using a password with three or more boxes for security reasons. The numbers correspond to how you will type your password in Render. For example, if your password is “0004090E” you would swipe (or click on each box in the correct order):



How to properly set up Back and Note Translate languages: 

Do not have multiple users with the same “to” language, but different “from” languages for note translate and back translates. This could cause a crash at consultant, as Render doesn’t know which back or note translate to use.

  • Example of bad scenario with consultant that speaks English:
    • User 1: Chibi>English
    • User 2: Chibi>Portuguese
    • User 3: Portuguese>English

This is a bad configuration as there are two back translations that are going to English. Consultant will crash.

  • Example of good scenario with Consultant that speaks English:
    • User 2: Chibi>Portuguese
    • User 3: Portuguese>English

This is a good configuration as one back translation will feed into the other and there is only one back translation into English.


What to do FIRST if you want to add processes, like another community check, Transcribe, Note Translate or a back translation:

If Admin is turning on Note Translate, Retell, BP or Transcribe, turn it on and sync it out AFTER the consultant has started work on all unworked sets (such as pressing play), otherwise (with syncing) it will go back to that role before it gets back to the consultant.


Apply screen lock to all devices:

Make sure that your screen lock is turned on, as there can be issues to the screen if you turn your device and Render adjusts to the vertical view.


If you have any questions, please submit a new ticket or send us an email.